top of page
Search
  • silvershineusa

Silver Earrings - What my dad bought for me changed everything?




I am writing this as a dedication to my dad who is my favourite person in the whole world! He has always taught me new things in life that as always bettered by life in new ways, but today when i’m 18 Ican’t help but look back 4 years ago when he introduced me to something that has managed to continuously help me until today.


So ever since I have known my dad, he has always been a dad first and jewelry artist second. The thing is he never introduced me to his work until I turned 14. We’d do all kinds of things together in our back yard, front lawn, at the field, in pools but he never even mentioned about his work. Super dad you see, always kept his family away from the worries of his work.


On my 14th birthday he brought to me a beautiful pair of silver earrings. Now if you noticed I didn’t say bought. He asked me to open the present containing the silver hoop earrings (my first hoop earrings pair), and waited till I wore those. He asked me how much I liked those silver hoop earrings, and they weren’t anything like I had ever seen, and I was completely floored. The moment I expressed to him how much I loved the hoops he turned to me and said “I made those baby”. He told me “honey, dada makes silver earrings for a living, that is how we bought the house last year” And that was when at the age of 14 I knew what he did. He is my stepdad who has always been my dad ever since I opened my eyes and I didn’t know that he created pure silver earrings for a living. It was then all the tools and equipments crossed my mind, but then I had seen some dad videos on YouTube that used tools and equipments to create stuff, and I just let it pass thinking that its just a very dad thing. I made him promise that he’d take me where he sits and makes silver earrings and ofcourse he said yes under the condition that I fed him some cake, and I of course stuffed it in his mouth.


The next day I visited my dad’s tiny little studio where he sat and created marvels. Well not the avengers but certainly not something any lesser. He showed me all the different kinds of silver dangle earrings, silver stud earrings, small silver hoop earrings and the silver drop earrings. All the way I kept asking him, dad did you really make these? Dad really! You created these? I felt my super dad was’t just a dad anymore, I thought he was actually cool. And nothing has changed today when am 18. Except today he has taught me how to create those as well, and I am ofcourse not as proficient as he is, but it is something I can’t imagine my life without.


Dad and I were always a lot connected with nature, and he had once designed a beautiful silver earring design. He said that it was kinda like a silver forest earring. The silver dangler earring had a long leaf with an oak tree designed onto it. And I asked who is that for, and it was for me. He knew I loved visiting the studio often and he just kept it there waiting for me ask that. At first I actually didn’t believe it was for me and I thought he was bluffing.


He showed me pictures that mum had shot back when i was 12 and we had built a swing together under an oak tree a couple hundred metres away from our back yard. And that was when I noticed the swing on that pair of silver dangle earrings.


I couldn’t believe he had the patience to wait till I asked who it was for just to surprise me. He told me coated them with rhodium to preserve them from turning black since he had created them nearly a year ago. And that was when I thought to myself that I don’t think anyone can love me like my dad because every guy is going to fall short infront of this. In my talks with my mum, she said that’s how he’s always been honey, he loves making silver earrings and you!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ways to Style Collar Silver Necklaces

The more we are moving forward into the future, the more we are getting hitched with the newest technology and innovation. The more we are getting linked with new designs and models of everything that

Style Guide to various types of Silver Bracelets

Bracelets have always been an important accessory from the ancient era to the modern ear. They constitute a never binding bond with fashion that makes them bound to women and men, making us not going

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page